Dukan Diet Phases | Attack, Cruise, Consolidation and Stabilization

Dukan diet phases

As we look back on some of the famous diets that arose, the Dukan diet is known for its high protein and low carbohydrate diet.

We will study the four phases that Dunkan Diet introduced, from removing Carbohydrate-rich foods on the plate and as time goes by, is slowly reintroduced them in small quantities.

Let’s go back to the origins of the Dukan Diet for beginners, back in the year 2000, Dr. Pierre Dukan, a French doctor, practicing as a neurologist, became interested in helping obese people to lose weight.

Establishing his website, he spent 40 years working as a clinical nutritionist and treated 40,000 patients. Dr. Dukan sold books about his diet entitled “Je ne sais pas maigrir” translated as “I don’t know how to lose weight.”

The book was revised in 2011 entitled The Dukan Diet: 2 Steps to Lose the Weight, 2 Steps to Keep it Off Forever in the USA and became a best seller.

As of 2012, the book has been published in 14 languages and sold 7 million copies worldwide.

There are 4 phases of the Dukan Diet, allowing the followers of this diet to modify the taste of their dish through artificial sweeteners, spices and herbs, and other seasonings.

Even diet soft drinks, teas, and non-fat dairy milk are also allowed in each stage of this diet. Dr. Dunkan would like the followers to enjoy their meals with varying tastes.

The First Phase of the Dukan diet is the “Attack Phase” which lasts 2 to 5 days, this phase removes any types of Carbohydrate-rich foods except oat bran for at least 1 and a half teaspoons a day.

No fruits and vegetables and can eat 68 types of high protein foods in unlimited quantities which include:

  • Beef (roasts or grilled items only, and not fatty cuts such as ribs).
  • Veal (cutlets, roast, or well-trimmed chops)
  • Buffalo
  • Venison
  • Chicken
  • Turkey
  • Other lean poultry
  • Eggs
  • Tofu
Dukan diet phases

Dukan diet phases

The duration of the effectiveness of this diet depends on your age, height, weight, medical, and family history. Some guidelines are as follows:

  • Less than 10 lbs. to lose: 1 or 2 days
  • From 15 to 30 lbs. to lose: 3 to 5 days
  • More than 40 lbs. to lose: after consulting with your physician and can last up to 7 days.

Since the nature of this diet comes mostly from Protein-rich foods, ketosis will occur, and the energy will be coming from protein and some fat sources producing ketones in the body as a source of energy.

It is recommended to drink a lot of water to flush away excess ketones through the urine.

It is also not advisable to stay longer on this type of phase since too much production of ketones as a waste product could cause a burden on kidneys and if unfixed, would lead to kidney problems in the future.

It is advisable to go on an active exercise especially in the morning to take advantage of burning too much fat from the body and weight loss is observable from a lot of people who follow this kind of diet.

Once the dieter has achieved his or her weight goal from the first phase, he or she can now proceed to the second phase of the Dukan Diet.

The second phase of the Dukan Diet is the “Cruise Phase” and it introduces a step-by-step process of eating Vegetables with Protein back in the meal plan but starchy vegetables are not yet allowed such as potatoes and corn.

From 68 allowed proteins adding 32 non-starchy vegetables in this phase.

Oat bran is still allowed to be consumed every day for about 1 and a half tablespoons or if the dieter wants to increase it to 2 tablespoons, it’s fine.

This introduces added nutrients to our body such as Water-Soluble Vitamins, Minerals, and Fiber.

An average person losses 1 lb. every 3 days. The dieter can increase the exercise for 30 minutes so that he or she should feel the forceful beating of his heart.

The effect is to lose excess body fat and take care of lean body mass. Some of the allowed Vegetables are as follows:


The third phase is the “Consolidation Phase” wherein starchy vegetables are slowly introduced, and the expected loss of weight is every 5 days.

You are now allowed to eat lamb, roast pork, and uncured cooked ham.

The goal of this phase is to maintain true weight and the dieter may do physical activity like brisk walking for 25 minutes every day. The diet still excludes bananas, grapes, figs, and cherries.

The last phase is the “Stabilization Phase” wherein the dieter will follow three simple rules to maintain the True Weight, first is to consume 3 tablespoons of oat bran per day, second is to choose to take stairs whenever possible, and last is to have a pure protein and exercise every Thursday.

These rules are guidelines to maintain the True Weight for the long term and to avoid the rebound of getting back the old weight and might be at worst, heavier than the previous one.

Regardless of the diet where you are, always remember that “what you eat is what you are”.

A famous quotation that everyone should always know and everything that you put inside and out of your body will always be the reflection of your health.

See Also

Atkins Diet Plan

South Beach Diet Plan

1500 Calorie Diet Plan

2000 Calorie Diet Plan

Egg Diet Plan