Gluten Free Food List (68 Foods in PDF)

Gluten Free Food List

Gluten is a protein that occurs naturally in some foods, but it may also be added to foods during production to give them a different feel.

Gluten can be utilized as a binding agent and seasoning, so it can occasionally be found in unexpected places.

Gluten may be found in anything from ice cream and soy sauce to some cosmetic products, dietary supplements, and medication.

Gluten is also present in foods like cereal, spaghetti, pizza, and other baked goods. 

Using a ‘gluten-free’ label on foods sold in the United States is optional. All foods labeled ‘gluten-free’ must have less than 20 ppm (parts per million) gluten.

The 20ppm was established because it’s virtually impossible to detect gluten levels below this point.

All gluten-free foods meet these guidelines. However, not all gluten-free foods are labeled, particularly foods that are naturally gluten-free.

The easiest way to be sure is to look at the nutrition label on the product. Let’s look at some of the gluten-free foods available today. 

Beverages and Drinks

Gluten Free Food List

Gluten Free Food List – Beverages and Drinks

There are many gluten-free beverages available, but you must be cautious to avoid inadvertently ingesting gluten. Water, of course, is gluten-free and is the best way to stay hydrated.

However, to avoid ingesting gluten accidentally, check the ingredients for all manufactured beverages since certain blends and versions may contain gluten.

Gluten-Free Drinks and Beverages

1. Alcoholic drinks: Cider and wines only. Cider is a perfect gluten-free alcoholic drink because it’s made with apples. Wine is good too because it’s made with grapes. 

2. Carbonated drinks, energy drinks, and juices: Check the label just to be safe, but these generally do not have active gluten ingredients. 

3. Coffee and tea: Coffee and tea are naturally gluten-free. But if you’re sensitive to gluten, check and ensure that there is no contamination in your coffee beans or tea leaves.

Drinks and Beverages to Avoid

Beer: Beer is made with barley, hops, or rye, meaning it has gluten, and you should avoid it. Some companies are developing gluten-free beers; feel free to check them out.

Condiments, Sauces, and Spices

Gluten Free Food List

Gluten Free Food List – Condiments, Sauces, and Spices

One of the most common places where gluten sneaks in unnoticed is sauces.

In several common condiments, gluten-containing substances can be employed to enrich the flavor and also be used as stabilizers and thickeners. 

Gluten-Free Condiments, Sauces, and Spices

1. Herbs and spices: Basil, black pepper, chili, cumin, garlic powder, oregano, thyme, etc.

2. Mayonnaise: Not prepared using gluten, but check the ingredients to be sure.

3. Vinegar: Apple cider vinegar, balsamic vinegar, and white vinegar. 

Condiments, Sauces, and Spices to Avoid

Many sauces and marinades use wheat flour as a thickener, which means they contain gluten. Be mindful of the following gluten sources that aren’t always obvious.

1. Barbecue sauce: Keep off barbecue sauces made from barley beer, malt, or soy sauce.

2. Ketchup and Worcestershire sauce: Both ketchup and Worcestershire sauce are made using malt, which isn’t gluten-free.

3. Malt vinegar: Malt vinegar has gluten; it’s present in some salads and sauces.

4. Soy sauce: Made from wheat which obviously has gluten.

Fruits and Veggies

Gluten Free Food List

Gluten Free Food List – Fruits and Veggies

Fresh, whole fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free and essential to a gluten-free diet. What’s more, they have antioxidants, minerals, and vitamins. 

When you leave the vegetable aisle and head to the packed produce aisle, you’ll have to be on the lookout for gluten.

Some processed fruits and vegetables may be preserved or produced with gluten-rich ingredients. 

For instance, when fruits are canned, dried, or frozen, gluten-rich ingredients may be introduced during the process, posing a risk of gluten contamination.

So when buying fruits and vegetables, keep the following in mind.

Gluten-Free Fruits and Veggies Additives and Preservatives

1. Acids: Ascorbic acid, citric acid, lactic acid, and malic acid.

2. Corn-starch.

3. Distilled vinegar.

4. Di- and monoglycerides.

5. Oat gum.

Fruits and Veggies Additives and Preservatives to Avoid

1. Gluten stabilizer.

2. Hydrolysed wheat protein.

3. Maltodextrin: This is ok when only made from corn, potato, or rice starch.

4. Modified food starch.

Proteins

Gluten Free Food List

Gluten Free Food List – Proteins

The majority of protein sources, both animal and plant-based, are naturally gluten-free.

Gluten may sneak into your meats and vegetarian proteins through additional components like fillers and taste enhancers such as rubs, sauces, and spices.

Fortunately, you can use this list to figure out which animal and plant-based proteins are suitable for a gluten-free diet.

Gluten-Free Proteins

1. Beans: Black beans, green beans, kidney beans, red beans, etc.

2. Nut and seeds: Almonds, cashews, macadamia, walnuts, etc.

3. Poultry: Fresh chicken and turkey.

4. Red meat: Beef, bison, lamb, mutton, pork, etc.

5. Seafood: Fresh clams, crabs, lobster, prawns, scallops, etc.

6. Tofu: Made from soybean, which is gluten-free.

Proteins to Avoid

1. Cold cuts: Some cold cuts have gluten-rich ingredients, and others have gluten due to cross-contamination on the meat slicer.

2. Ground meat: Ground beef and chicken may have gluten added as a filler.

3. Processed meats: Brawns, hot dogs, pepperoni, salami, sausage, etc. These might have gluten as an additive, so check for wheat dextrin or wheat gluten.

4. Seitan: This vegan protein is made from wheat gluten, so avoid it at all costs. 

5. Veggie burgers and other meat substitutes.

Sweets and Desserts

Gluten Free Food List

Gluten Free Food List – Sweets and Desserts

Many sweets and desserts use wheat flour or other gluten-containing components.

As more manufacturers create gluten-free versions of their products, keep in mind that while gluten-free sweets aren’t inherently better for your overall wellbeing than conventional sweets, they can help prevent a bad reaction if you’re gluten-sensitive.

Gluten-Free Sweets and Desserts

1. Chocolate

2. Frozen yogurt

3. Gelato

4. Hard candy and gummies

5. Ice cream and sherbet

Sweets and Desserts to Avoid

1. Barley malt

2. Grain-based desserts

3. Liquorice

Whole Grains

Gluten Free Food List

Gluten Free Food List – Whole Grains

Whole grains are an excellent source of wholesome carbs that will keep you going throughout the day.

Fiber is present in most whole grains, which keeps you full and aids digestion. Despite the fact that many grains contain gluten, some are naturally gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Whole Grains

1. Amaranth

2. Buckwheat

3. Corn

4. Millet

5. Oats

6. Quinoa

7. Potato Flour

8. Rice

9. Sorghum

10. Teff 

Whole Grains to Avoid

If you’re unsure whether your bread, crackers, spaghetti, or other grain-based items are gluten-free, a simple peek at the ingredients list will help.

Avoid foods that include any ingredients listed below since they are not gluten-free.

1. Barley

2. Malt

3. Rye

4. Triticale

5. Wheat

6. Wheat varieties such as bromated flour, bulgur, durum, farina, farro, graham, Kamut, semolina, spelt, whole wheat, and wheat berries.

Final Thought

All in all, if you want a gluten-free diet, there are many foods you can eat that are naturally gluten-free, including fruits and vegetables.

But a successful gluten-free diet boils down to counter-checking food ingredients because gluten is added to foods you might not expect.

Printable Gluten Free Food List (PDF)

Gluten-Free Drinks and BeveragesDrinks and Beverages to Avoid
Alcoholic drinks: Cider and wines onlyBeer
Carbonated drinks, energy drinks, and juicesCondiments, Sauces, and Spices to Avoid
Coffee and teaBarbecue sauce
Gluten-Free Condiments, Sauces, and SpicesKetchup and Worcestershire sauce
Herbs and spices: Basil, black pepper, chili, cumin, garlic powder, oregano, thyme, etc.Malt vinegar
MayonnaiseSoy sauce
Mustard.Fruits and Veggies Additives and Preservatives to Avoid
Vinegar: Apple cider vinegar, balsamic vinegar, and white vinegar. Gluten stabilizer
Gluten-Free Fruits and Veggies Additives and PreservativesHydrolysed wheat protein
Acids: Ascorbic acid, citric acid, lactic acid, and malic acid.Malt
Corn-starch.Maltodextrin
Distilled vinegar.Modified food starch
Di- and monoglycerides.Proteins to Avoid
Oat gum.Cold cuts
Gluten-Free ProteinsGround meat
Beans: Black beans, green beans, kidney beans, red beans, etc.Processed meats: Brawns, hot dogs, pepperoni, salami, sausage, etc
Nut and seeds: Almonds, cashews, macadamia, walnuts, etc.Seitan
Poultry: Fresh chicken and turkey.Veggie burgers and other meat substitutes
Red meat: Beef, bison, lamb, mutton, pork, etc.Sweets and Desserts to Avoid
Seafood: Fresh clams, crabs, lobster, prawns, scallops, etc.Barley malt
Tofu: Made from soybean, which is gluten-free.Grain-based desserts
Gluten-Free Sweets and DessertsLiquorice
ChocolateWhole Grains to Avoid
Frozen yogurtBarley
GelatoMalt
Hard candy and gummiesRye
Ice cream and sherbetTriticale
Gluten-Free Whole GrainsWheat
AmaranthWheat varieties such as bromated flour, bulgur, durum, farina, farro, graham, Kamut, semolina, spelt, whole wheat, and wheat berries
Buckwheat
Corn
Millet
Oats
Quinoa
Potato Flour
Rice
Sorghum
Teff 

See Also

1200 Calorie Gluten Free Meal Plan

Gluten Free Cornbread Recipe

High Magnesium Food List

How to Eat Clean? Clean Eating Food List

Low Sodium Fast Food

1500 Calorie Meal Plan

1400 Calorie Diet Plan

1000 Calorie Meal Plan

3 Day Cleanse to Lose Belly Fat

Dr Sebi Food List